News of the week #40

Some other cool deliveries this week with new LPs from FORCED ORDER,  MINDAWAKE and LEDGE, a repress of MADBALL “Set It Off”, new 7″ by FREEDOM, BURIED ALIVE, SUPERTOUCH and BITTER YOUTH along with a some cool new tapes and restocks listed bellow.



Freedom – Never Had A Choice [7’’]


Freedom’s strain of unrelenting hardcore has always reflected a harsh reality, and their latest EP, “Never Had A Choice,” is no different. Following up their Triple-B Records debut LP “USA Hardcore,” this 7″ EP rips through five tracks of old-school style in the vein of Madball and Agnostic Front. 7″ includes digital download.


Get it here

Forced Order – One Last Prayer [LP]


“One Last Prayer” is the latest offering from Southern California’s Forced Order. Their first release on Triple-B continues where their last full-length, “Vanished Crusade,” left off, wasting no time by leading off with the intense opening title track. Like the pioneers in metallic hardcore before them, Forced Order combines the crushing power of Hatebreed with the manic fury of Integrity to create an entirely new, chaotic sound. Now available on vinyl. Vinyl version includes digital download.


Get it here

Buried Alive – Watchmen Sessions [7’’]


Combining the speed and intensity of the music that shaped their youth, with a raw and brutal edge that will put them at the forefront of today‘s hardcore scene. Each member of Buffalo‘s BURIED ALIVE draws from a long history of active involvement in the hardcore scene. Featuring current and ex-members of Terror, Despair, Slugfest, Hourglass and Union. This 7″ features the 2 song demo tape, an alternate version of “Watching You Die” and an unreleased exclusive song from the demo recording “How Much More”.


Get it here

Supertouch – Flying High 95 [7’’]


This flexi features one track, a forgotten song that Supertouch vocalist Mark Ryan found that was recorded in 1995 and never released. It has been available on Bandcamp but never on a physical format until this release. Limited edition of 500 copies.


Get it here

Ledge – Year One [LP]


Punk-influenced doom/sludge from Chicago. Taking the sold out demo tape (100 tapes were released originally by Bad teeth Recordings) and the song from the upcoming split with Disrotted. From the mind of John Hoffman (ex Weekend Nachos). For fans of Crowbar, Eyehategod and Corrupted.


Get it here

Bitter Youth – A New Light [7″]


BITER YOUTH is the new breed UK Hardcore from Liverpool. This new 7″ A New Light marks a defined change of step with their sound. The refined elements of classic and modern hardcore, with the positive ethic of youth crew bands like True Colors or Mindset, introspectiveness and emotional edge of bands like Turning Point, and bruising yet melodic riffs make it clear, the youth is bitter but striving for unity and progress.


Get it here

Madball – Set It Off [LP]


The first Madball release for Roadrunner Records, “Set It Off,” is a document of this hardcore outfit at their most menacing, both musically and lyrically. With Freddy Cricien on vocals, Vinnie Stigma and Matt Henderson on guitar, Will Shepler on drums and bassist Hoya rounding out the rhythm section, these NY hardcore specialists made a huge sound that was undeniably loud, rude and confrontational. The music underground praised Madball for the unforgiving brutality and skill displayed on this 1994 offering that includes standouts like the bone-crunching “Face To Face,” “Never Had It” and “Across Your Face.”Official Reissue on Backbite records.

Black wax limited to 300 copies.

Get it here


Mind Awake – Pressure [LP]


Mind Awake is a 5 piece hardcore band from Paris, France. They deliver what we like: a simple kind of music. Fast & heavy riffing, short songs, talking about life experiences. A modern kind of youthcrew hardcore. Mind Awake are vegan straight edge.

FFO : Trapped Under Ice, Backtrack, Terror or No Turning Back

One-sided white 12″ limited to 300 copies with etching on B-side. 

Get it here


Also, all the following releases have been added to the store. Get them all here.


Have Heart – What Counts
Power Trip – The Armageddon Blues Sessions


Civic Duty – Burden Of Hate
Freedom – Pay The Price
Hard Stripes – Untitled


Coke Bust – Line In The Sand
Concealed Blade – ST
Impalers – Psychedelic Snutskallar
Long Knife – Meditations On Self Destruction
Tear It Up – Nothing To Nothing



Alexis is the one man behind STRAIGHT & ALERT, also doing vocals for Harm Done and Raw Justice (R.I.P). He has been involved into Hardcore Punk for 15 years, running Straight & Alert, playing in bands, booking shows or doing a fanzine. Based in Nantes, France.

Latest posts by Alexis (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The Shop


Straight And Alert

Subscribe to receive all the news
from the blog and the shop

Subscribe to STRAIGHT & ALERT newsletter