News of the week #42

Lots of new stuff this week with repressing of  RAW DEAL and some WARZONE records, new LP by NO WARNING . 7″ by RAPTURE, UNJUST and RASHOMON along with a lot of restocks.



Raw Deal – Demo [LP]


Before KILLING TIME there was RAW DEAL. It seems they changed their name after being threatened with a lawsuit by another band of the same name. This is the legendary 7 track demo, reissued on a 12″ by the band to celebrate their 30th annyversary. Some of the best NYHC tunes ever written feature on this piece of wax.


Get it here

Warzone – Lower East Side [LP]


Warzone had their strongest lineup in years and with momentum at a peak they decided to re-release and re-record their classic first release, “Lower East Side Crew,” renaming it “Lower East Side.” The songs on this release are proven classics and represent one of the most crucial times in hardcore history. Now properly recorded, they were available through “Lower East Side” for the first time in years. Now available again on colored vinyl. Vinyl version includes a free MP3 download.


Get it here

Cause For Alarm / Warzone – Split [LP]


Four songs from each of these old-school, New York hardcore veterans. Crucial. Now available again on colored vinyl. Vinyl version includes a free MP3 download.


Get it here

No Warning – Torture Culture [LP]


After nearly a decade away, No Warning returns with “Torture Culture,” a third album that is as scrappy, self-assured and unrelenting as it was once unthinkably improbable. The new album is grimy, pulverizing and antagonistic street punk in a mind-meld with menacing metalcore, comprised of towering riffage, blistering solos and raw vocals. No Warning don’t so much as borrow hooks from the past as they’ve studied the very essence of what’s come before, from Bay Area thrash metal to New York Hardcore, from post-grunge melody to melancholy balladry and back again, all through their own lens of discontent, simmering noncompliance and stark rage. Vinyl version includes digital download.


Get it here

Rapture – I Glorify [7″]


‘I Glorify’ is the debut EP from Leeds based hardcore unit Rapture. Taking a big leap from their well received demo from last year, Rapture have further developed their signature sound blending Floorpunch, Turning Point with a hint of early Youth of Today, brimming with powerful rhythm section and catchy guitar hooks. The fast paced lyrics focus on the social pressures of everyday life, the power of words that seem to be so freely dispensed in today’s society, online or otherwise, and the costly effect that they can have. Meanwhile ‘The New Wave’ is a nod to the New Wave of British Hardcore that Rapture identify with, sharing members with a host of bands such as Obstruct, True Vision, Shrapnel and Big Cheese.

Available on Black or Red wax

Get it here

Unjust – Transparency [7″]


Manchester Hardcore unit Unjust release their debut 7″ ‘Transparency’, ramping up the ferocity factor since their demo, channelling Brotherhood and Confront vibes with plenty of pit friendly mid tempo beats in between blasting verses. Members of Insist rage unapologetically about the straight edge, with the kind of bold call to action lyrics that make you get up in the morning with a positive spring in your step ready to take on this sick sad world. The speed of Unjust’s songs is what sets it apart from the genre, with songs such as ‘False’ containing drum rolls and blasts for days, and song writing that harkens back to some of the initial waves of hardcore punk in ’82 and ’85.

Available on Black or Blue wax


Get it here

Rashomon – ST [7″]


Rashomon is one of the best, new hardcore punk bands to emerge from Washington, DC. Fulfilling the promise of the NWODHC set by Pure Disgust, Rashomon comes roaring out the gates with this four-song demo that is one of the best hardcore releases of the year, thus far. Fronted by Japanese national Kohei, the band takes elements all over the international, ’80s hardcore punk spectrum with touches of metallic guitar leads and insane drumming.


Get it here

XXX – Preview [Fanzine+7″]


This 24-page mini-zine gives you just a taste of the madness in the upcoming 288-page book, “XXX Fanzine 1983-1988 Hardcore & Punk In The Eighties.” More of a companion piece than a preview, this ‘zine features additional photographs and interviews that didn’t make the book as well as some crucial pieces lifted from the book itself. Also included is a Nomads 7″ flexi which features the band covering Crucifix’s “How When And Where” which flawlessly transitions into Agnostic Front’s crossover classic “The Eliminator.”

Get it here


Also, all the following releases have been added to the store. Get them all here.


Agent Orange – Living In Darkness
All Out War – For Those Who Were Crucified
American Nightmare (Give Up The Ghost) – Year One
Bad Brains – ST
Balance & Compure – The Things We Think We’re Missing
Breakdown  – The ’87 Demo
Cutting Through – A Will To Change – Transparent Blue
Dead Kennedys – In God We Trust, Inc.
Dead Kennedys – Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables
Dead Kennedys – Plastic Surgery Disasters/In God We Trust, Inc
Discharge  – Hear Nothing See Nothing Say Nothing
Fugazi – Steady Diet of Nothing
Fugazi – ST
H2O – Thicker Than Water : 20th Anniversary Edition
H2O – The Don Fury Demo Session – Blue
H2O – The Don Fury Demo Session – Yellow
Have Heart – Songs To Scream At The Sun
Hot Water Music – Light It Up
Indecision – Unorthodox
Integrity – To Die For [10″]
Integrity – Seasons In The Size of Days (20th Anniversary Edition) – Clear And Black Smoke
Integrity – Seasons In The Size of Days (20th Anniversary Edition) – Purple
Integrity – Systems Overload
Integrity – Systems Overload (A2/Orr+ Mix)
Integrity – Suicide Black Snake
Iron Chic – You Can’t Stay Here
Judge – What it Meant : The Complete Discography [2ble LP]
MDC – Millions Of Dead Cops – Millennium Edition
Minor Threat – Out Of Step
Negative Approach – Tied Down
NOFX – The Decline
NOFX – First Ditch Effort
NOFX – Longest Line
NOFX – Maximum Rocknroll
Outspoken  – A Light In The Dark
Samiam – Don’t Break Me [10″]
Strife – Live At The Troubadour [LP+DVD]
The Templars – Deus Vult
Violent Reaction – Marching On


Antidote – Thou Shalt Not Kill
Backtrack – The ’08 Demo
Black Flag – Nervous Breakdown
Black Flag – Six Pack
Dare – OC Straight Edge [7″ Flexi]
Madball / Wisdom In Chains – The Family Biz
Mindforce – The Future Of..
Negative Approach – Friends Of No One
Sex Prisoner – Demo
Slapshot – I Believe
State Of Alert – First Demo 12/29/80
Stand Off – Behind The Wire
True Vision – Against The Grain – Red
True Vision – Against The Grain – Blue



Open Your Eyes – Building A Better World
Wise – Demo ’17






Alexis is the one man behind STRAIGHT & ALERT, also doing vocals for Harm Done and Raw Justice (R.I.P). He has been involved into Hardcore Punk for 15 years, running Straight & Alert, playing in bands, booking shows or doing a fanzine. Based in Nantes, France.

Latest posts by Alexis (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The Shop


Straight And Alert

Subscribe to receive all the news
from the blog and the shop